SEIFSA Awards for Excellence Honour Companies in the Metals and Engineering Sector


Companies in the Metals and Engineering Sector were recognised for their talent and hard work at the SEIFSA Awards for Excellence on November 17 2023 at The Venue at Melrose Arch, Johannesburg.

The industry’s premier recognition platform ensured companies of all sizes had the chance to bask in the spotlight among their peers.

SEIFSA CEO Lucio Trentini awarded the prestigious Outstanding Service to the Industry Award to Chris Murray, introducing him as someone who “has had played a significant role in the work of SEIFSA, the industry and associated forums and platforms for almost 40 years”.

Murray, a former SEIFSA president, has held various executive positions as both managing director and board member for various companies, including being the chair of the Haggie Group of Companies until his official retirement in 2004.

“I, on behalf of all of SEIFSA, past and present, am immensely grateful to you for your invaluable support to the Federation and contribution to the industry over the years,” said Trentini.

The Business Women of the Year Award was awarded to Racheal Njoroge, former managing director of Cummins Southern Africa and now Strategic Programs and Integrations Director, Cummins, Africa and Middle East.

Nuraan Alli SEIFSA Marketing, Sales and Communication Executive, described Njoroge as a “remarkable leader who has consistently demonstrated her dedication, vision and commitment to achieving milestones while cultivating healthy work environments”.

While Managing Director at Cummins she helped the company reach new heights, including posting record-breaking financial results for the year 2022. “Under her leadership, the company witnessed unprecedented growth and profitability, setting new standards for success in the Southern African region,” says Alli.

Njoroge may have been named the winner, but there were three other nominees in the category: Pam du Plessis from Invincible Valves, Honey Mamabolo from the South African Mint Company and Melanie Mulholland from Cape and Engineers and Founders Association

Actom won the Corporate Social Responsibility Award, which recognised the company for making a positive impact on society and demonstrating “an unwavering commitment to creating a positive impact on society” says Nuraan Alli, Marketing, Sales and Communication Executive

This year a new award has been added, the BRICS Award, in conjunction with the BRICS Business Council. The award sought to recognise the decarbonisation efforts of a metal producing company that operates within the BRICS member countries. ArcelorMittal South Africa won the award for its ongoing decarbonisation roadmap as well as its associated progress and investment towards decarbonising the steel sector, which is one of the hardest sectors to abate globally.

SEIFSA CEO Lucio Trentini adds that “the vision and progress being made by ArcelorMittal South Africa in its decarbonisation effort not only has profound benefit for the company and the upstream steel industry, but the entire Metals and Engineering Sector, given the company’s position at the beginning of the value chain. Companies in the downstream that are consumers of this steel will in the future enjoy the benefit of the less-carbon intensive steels”.

SEIFSA Awards for Excellence winners:

  • Best Customer Service Award: Dynamic Fluid Control
  • Company Artisan Training Award: Macsteel
  • Corporate Social Responsibility: Actom
  • Environmental Stewardship: Electrolux
  • Most Digitally Innovative Company: Aberdare
  • BRICS Award: ArcelorMittal
  • The workplace Health and Safety Award: Dynamic Fluid Control
  • Business Women of the Year Award: Racheal Njoroge, Cummins Southern Africa
  • Outstanding Contribution to the Industry: Chris Murray

For further information please visit:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!