Kenya set for sharing of mining royalties to counties

Kenya set for sharing of mining royalties to counties

The government of Kenya is set distribute mining royalties to counties. Mining, Blue Economy and Maritime Affairs Cabinet Secretary Salim Mvurya confirmed the report and said they are in the final stages of making regulations that will guide on the sharing process.

CS Mvurya noted that the Mining Act 2016 directed that revenue from minerals was to be shared between the national government, the county government and community living in the mining areas with each getting 70, 20 and ten percent respectively.

“My team is finalising a few grey areas in the Mining Act. The regulations will be taken to parliament and once adopted, the communities will start receiving their rightful share of revenues from minerals. We are also going to ensure counties received royalties owed to them as dictated by law,” said the CS.

Mining in Kenya

Kenya is still in early exploration of its mineral potential. Initially, the country was mapped as an agricultural zone and in previous generations, this led to reduced exploration for minerals. The country is vastly underexplored for minerals and its mining sector is currently dominated by the production of non-metallic commodities. Kenya is the third largest producer of soda ash in the world and the seventh producer of fluorspar

Taita Taveta County is a mining powerhouse with hundreds of gemstones mines being scattered across the sub-counties of Mwatate and Voi sub-counties. There are also large-scale mining activities in Kishushe where iron ore is extracted for export. In the Mrabenyi area, an investor is engaging in manganese.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here